Agia Triada Monastery or otherwise known: Monastery of Agia Triada Tsangarolon – a monastery, with a great historical past, belonging to the Greek Orthodox Church and still operating today.
It is located in the northern part of Chania prefecture, in the heart of the Akrotiri peninsula.
Chania’s old town is 17 km, and the unique Gouverneto Monastery is 4 km.

17th century – on the site of an existing church, a Cretan Orthodox monks: Jeremiah and Lavrentis – was built the monastery called the “Trinity”.
They are the descendants of the Venetian Tzagarolos family.

This content is for members only.

Opening Hours:

Summer: from 08:00 until sunset
Winter: from 8.00 to 14.00 and 16:00 to sunset

The building complex was built in Renaissance style, but its characteristic façade is decorated with Doric columns.
The building complex has a unique atmosphere and is beautiful – therefore worth a visit.

This content is for members only.

This content is for members only.

The History of the Monastery of Agia Triada

1611 – Jeremias undertook to design the new church as the existing church was small and abandoned.
The monks Lavrentios and Jeremias, who built the monastery – they came from the family of the great Venetocreta Tzagarolos.
The two brothers monk gained knowledge, from history, Greek, Latin, and architecture.
The great Veronese architect Sebastiano Serlio had impact on the design.

1634 – Jeremias began building the monastery

He died, before construction was complete. His brother, Lavrentios, continued to work.

1645 – the Turks invaded Crete.
The work on Tzagarolon Monastery was interrupted. The Turks called the monastery Selvili Manastir, which means “Monastery of the Cypresses”

1821 – The Greek Revolution.
The monks living in the monastery managed to escape. All the historical manuscripts collected by the monks, remained in the convent. This was burned by the Turks.

This content is for members only.

This content is for members only.

The monastery church

The church was completed after the Greek Revolution.

Features of the church:

– it was built with three domes in Byzantine architectural style
– the main church is dedicated to the Trinity
– shown on both sides of the main entrance: two large Doric-style columns and a smaller Corinthian column
– next to the main church there are two smaller chapels
– the first chapel is dedicated to the Spring of Life (Zoodochos Pigi)
– the second chapel is dedicated to St. John the Theologian
– On the façade of the church there is a double column of Ionian and Corinthian, with Greek inscription: dated 1631
– of its original decoration, only the gilded icon of the ground-floor chapel remains