Gonia Odigitria Monastery, also say Monastery of Our Lady of Gonia, or Lady of the Angels Monastery of Gonia – is an orthodox monastery on the Spatha Peninsula – on the seaside.

The monastery has a unique view: the bay of Chania.

Gonia: in English language: Corner – it was given this name, because is located on the edge of the Gulf of Chania.

From Kolymvari only 2 km – 26.8 km from Chania Venetian Port and 16.7 km from Kissamos.

This content is for members only.

Opening Times:

in summer: daily from 9:00-1400 and from 16:00 – sunset

in winter: daily from 9:00-1400

Entrance fee: 2 euro

Tel. of the monastery: 28240-22281

The History of the Gonia Odigitria Monastery

9th century – according to archaeological finds: the monastery was built by hermits on the ruins of the ancient church of Artemis Vritomartis (Diktynna) in this period – originally in honor of St. George

– the building complex was constantly threatened by attacks by pirates

13th century – according to excavations: the monastery was rebuilt. The monastery complex you can see today is located next to a burial site. The remains of the original 13th-century church are below the burial site.

1618 –   Vlassios founded the monastery, which we see today

– monk Venedictos Tzagarolοs continued to manage the works

– the reconstruction was done in Venetian style

– the complex is surrounded by a high wall, similar to the fortresses of Venice

– the Gonia Monastery is a Venetian-style fortress monastery

1634 – the church of the monastery is completed – consecrated to the Assumption of Virgin Mary – feast of this event: 15. August

– major attacks on the monastery: among others in 1645, 1652

1662 – the patriarch placed a cross in the foundations of the church, therefore it became a stauropegion monastery – the Ecumenical Patriarchate took control

1708 – the fountain, which can be seen in front of the entrance, is completed

1805 – the Chapel of St. Nicholas and St. Charalambos is built

– the narthex was built in the main church – this is a feature of the Byzantine church: the foyer opposite the main altar of the church

– the dome

– the area around the court: the abode of the abbot and the monks of the monastery

– during the Ottoman occupation, the monastery of Gonia was a small fortress: a refuge for the rebels. Therefore, it was constantly the target of the conquerors.

This content is for members only.

This content is for members only.

This content is for members only.

Inside the monastery is the Church Museum

– collection of icons from the 14th century

– some very old icons (such these of Constantine Palaiokapas)

– icons made by Parthenios, Ritzos, and Neilos – 15th and 17th century- two old monastic codes: in which monks recorded in detail the history of the monastery

– manuscripts of several centuries

– sacred objects

– exhibition of church clothes

– there are several ancient inscriptions on the walls